Home Page
Home Page



All the results that are scratched by the UCI are shown as a 'line-through' winner. In some cases the winner is now number two (2010 Tour Andy Schleck, 2011 Giro Michele Scarponi), but in other cases also the number two is scratched (eg Dennis Menchov (Rus)). In case of Armstrong no new winner has been appointed (7 times). The situation is a bit confusing and that's why we keep it with a 'line-through' statement.

Grand Tours: Chronological Overview Winners Grand Tours per Year

Year Tour de France Giro d'Italia Vuelta a Espana
2017   Christopher Froome (GBR)   Tom Dumoulin (NED)   Christopher Froome (GBR)
2016   Christopher Froome (GBR)   Vincenzo Nibali (ITA)   Nairo Alexander Quintana Rojas (COL)
2015   Christopher Froome (GBR)   Alberto Contador Velasco (ESP)   Fabio Aru (ITA)
2014   Vincenzo Nibali (ITA)   Nairo Alexander Quintana Rojas (COL)   Alberto Contador Velasco (ESP)
2013   Christopher Froome (GBR)   Vincenzo Nibali (ITA)   Chris Horner (USA)
2012   Bradley Wiggins (GBR)   Ryder Hesjedal (CAN)   Alberto Contador Velasco (ESP)
2011   Cadel Evans (AUS)   Alberto Contador Velasco (ESP)   Juan Jose Cobo Acebo (ESP)
2010   Alberto Contador Velasco (ESP)   Ivan Basso (ITA)   Vincenzo Nibali (ITA)
2009   Alberto Contador Velasco (ESP)   Denis Menchov (RUS)   Alejandro Valverde Belmonte (ESP)
2008   Carlos Sastre Candil (ESP)   Alberto Contador Velasco (ESP)   Alberto Contador Velasco (ESP)
2007   Alberto Contador Velasco (ESP)   Danilo Di Luca (ITA)   Denis Menchov (RUS)
2006   Oscar Pereiro Sio (ESP)   Ivan Basso (ITA)   Alexandre Vinokourov (KAZ)
2005   Lance Armstrong (USA)   Paolo Savoldelli (ITA)   Denis Menchov (RUS)
2004   Lance Armstrong (USA)   Damiano Cunego (ITA)   Roberto Heras Hernandez (ESP)
2003   Lance Armstrong (USA)   Gilberto Simoni (ITA)   Roberto Heras Hernandez (ESP)
2002   Lance Armstrong (USA)   Paolo Savoldelli (ITA)   Aitor Gonzalez Jimenez (ESP)
2001   Lance Armstrong (USA)   Gilberto Simoni (ITA)   Angel-Luis Casero Moreno (ESP)
2000   Lance Armstrong (USA)   Stefano Garzelli (ITA)   Roberto Heras Hernandez (ESP)
1999   Lance Armstrong (USA)   Ivan Gotti (ITA)   Jan Ullrich (GER)
1998   Marco Pantani (ITA)   Marco Pantani (ITA)   Abraham Olano Manzano (ESP)
1997   Jan Ullrich (GER)   Ivan Gotti (ITA)   Alex Zulle (SUI)
1996   Bjarne Riis (DEN)   Pavel Tonkov (RUS)   Alex Zulle (SUI)
1995   Miguel Indurain Larraya (ESP)   Tony Rominger (SUI)   Laurent Jalabert (FRA)
1994   Miguel Indurain Larraya (ESP)   Evguyny Berzin (RUS)   Tony Rominger (SUI)
1993   Miguel Indurain Larraya (ESP)   Miguel Indurain Larraya (ESP)   Tony Rominger (SUI)
1992   Miguel Indurain Larraya (ESP)   Miguel Indurain Larraya (ESP)   Tony Rominger (SUI)
1991   Miguel Indurain Larraya (ESP)   Franco Chioccioli (ITA)   Melchor Mauri Prat (ESP)
1990   Greg Lemond (USA)   Gianni Bugno (ITA)   Marco Giovannetti (ITA)
1989   Greg Lemond (USA)   Laurent Fignon (FRA)   Pedro Delgado Robledo (ESP)
1988   Pedro Delgado Robledo (ESP)   Andy Hampsten (USA)   Sean Kelly (IRL)
1987   Stephen Roche (IRL)   Stephen Roche (IRL)   Luis Alberto Herrera Herrera (COL)
1986   Greg Lemond (USA)   Roberto Visentini (ITA)   Alvaro Pino Counago (ESP)
1985   Bernard Hinault (FRA)   Bernard Hinault (FRA)   Pedro Delgado Robledo (ESP)
1984   Laurent Fignon (FRA)   Francesco Moser (ITA)   Eric Caritoux (FRA)
1983   Laurent Fignon (FRA)   Giuseppe Saronni (ITA)   Bernard Hinault (FRA)
1982   Bernard Hinault (FRA)   Bernard Hinault (FRA)   Marino Lejarreta Arrizabalaga (ESP)
1981   Bernard Hinault (FRA)   Giovanni Battaglin (ITA)   Giovanni Battaglin (ITA)
1980   Joop Zoetemelk (NED)   Bernard Hinault (FRA)   Faustino Ruperez Rincon (ESP)
1979   Bernard Hinault (FRA)   Giuseppe Saronni (ITA)   Joop Zoetemelk (NED)
1978   Bernard Hinault (FRA)   Johan De Muynck (BEL)   Bernard Hinault (FRA)
1977   Bernard Thevenet (FRA)   Michel Pollentier (BEL)   Freddy Maertens (BEL)
1976   Lucien Van Impe (BEL)   Felice Gimondi (ITA)   Jose Pesarrodona (ESP)
1975   Bernard Thevenet (FRA)   Fausto Bertoglio (ITA)   Agustin Tamames Iglesias (ESP)
1974   Eddy Merckx (BEL)   Eddy Merckx (BEL)   Jose Manuel Fuente Lavandera (ESP)
1973   Luis Ocana Pernia (ESP)   Eddy Merckx (BEL)   Eddy Merckx (BEL)
1972   Eddy Merckx (BEL)   Eddy Merckx (BEL)   Jose Manuel Fuente Lavandera (ESP)
1971   Eddy Merckx (BEL)   Gosta Pettersson (SWE)   Ferdinand Bracke (BEL)
1970   Eddy Merckx (BEL)   Eddy Merckx (BEL)   Luis Ocana Pernia (ESP)
1969   Eddy Merckx (BEL)   Felice Gimondi (ITA)   Roger Pingeon (FRA)
1968   Jan Janssen (NED)   Eddy Merckx (BEL)   Felice Gimondi (ITA)
1967   Roger Pingeon (FRA)   Felice Gimondi (ITA)   Jan Janssen (NED)
1966   Lucien Aimar (FRA)   Gianni Motta (ITA)   Francisco Gabica Cogeascoa Ibarra (ESP)
1965   Felice Gimondi (ITA)   Vittorio Adorni (ITA)   Rolf Wolfshohl (GER)
1964   Jacques Anquetil (FRA)   Jacques Anquetil (FRA)   Raymond Poulidor (FRA)
1963   Jacques Anquetil (FRA)   Franco Balmamion (ITA)   Jacques Anquetil (FRA)
1962   Jacques Anquetil (FRA)   Franco Balmamion (ITA)   Rudy Altig (GER)
1961   Jacques Anquetil (FRA)   Arnaldo Pambianco (ITA)   Angelino Soler (ESP)
1960   Gastone Nencini (ITA)   Jacques Anquetil (FRA)   Frans De Mulder (BEL)
1959   Federico Bahamontes (ESP)   Charly Gaul (LUX)   Antonio Suarez Vazquez (ESP)
1958   Charly Gaul (LUX)   Ercole Baldini (ITA)   Jean Stablinski (FRA)
1957   Jacques Anquetil (FRA)   Gastone Nencini (ITA)   Jesus Lorono (ESP)
1956   Roger Walkowiak (FRA)   Charly Gaul (LUX)   Angelo Conterno (ITA)
1955   Louison Bobet (FRA)   Fiorenzo Magni (ITA)   Jean Dotto (FRA)
1954   Louison Bobet (FRA)   Carlo Clerici (SUI)
1953   Louison Bobet (FRA)   Fausto Coppi (ITA)
1952   Fausto Coppi (ITA)   Fausto Coppi (ITA)
1951   Hugo Koblet (SUI)   Fiorenzo Magni (ITA)
1950   Ferdi Kubler (SUI)   Hugo Koblet (SUI)   Emilio Rodriguez Barros (ESP)
1949   Fausto Coppi (ITA)   Fausto Coppi (ITA)
1948   Gino Bartali (ITA)   Fiorenzo Magni (ITA)   Bernardo Ruiz Navarrette (ESP)
1947   Jean Robic (FRA)   Fausto Coppi (ITA)   Edward Van Dijck (BEL)
1946     Gino Bartali (ITA)   Dalmacio Langarica Lizasoain (ESP)
1945       Delio Rodriguez Barros (ESP)
1942       Julian Berrendero Martin (ESP)
1941       Julian Berrendero Martin (ESP)
1940     Fausto Coppi (ITA)
1939   Sylvere Maes (BEL)   Giovanni Valetti (ITA)
1938   Gino Bartali (ITA)   Giovanni Valetti (ITA)
1937   Roger Lapebie (FRA)   Gino Bartali (ITA)
1936   Sylvere Maes (BEL)   Gino Bartali (ITA)   Gustaaf Deloor (BEL)
1935   Romain Maes (BEL)   Vasco Bergamaschi (ITA)   Gustaaf Deloor (BEL)
1934   Antonin Magne (FRA)   Learco Guerra (ITA)
1933   Georges Speicher (FRA)   Alfredo Binda (ITA)
1932   Andre Leducq (FRA)   Antonio Pesenti (ITA)
1931   Antonin Magne (FRA)   Francesco Camusso (ITA)
1930   Andre Leducq (FRA)   Luigi Marchisio (ITA)
1929   Maurice De Waele (BEL)   Alfredo Binda (ITA)
1928   Nicolas Frantz (LUX)   Alfredo Binda (ITA)
1927   Nicolas Frantz (LUX)   Alfredo Binda (ITA)
1926   Lucien Buysse (BEL)   Giovanni Brunero (ITA)
1925   Ottavio Bottecchia (ITA)   Alfredo Binda (ITA)
1924   Ottavio Bottecchia (ITA)   Giuseppe Enrici (ITA)
1923   Henri Pelissier (FRA)   Costante Girardengo (ITA)
1922   Firmin Lambot (BEL)   Giovanni Brunero (ITA)
1921   Leon Scieur (BEL)   Giovanni Brunero (ITA)
1920   Philippe Thys (BEL)   Gaetano Belloni (ITA)
1919   Firmin Lambot (BEL)   Costante Girardengo (ITA)
1914   Philippe Thys (BEL)   Alfonso Calzolari (ITA)
1913   Philippe Thys (BEL)   Carlo Oriani (ITA)
1912   Odile Defraye (BEL)
1911   Gustave Garrigou (FRA)   Carlo Galetti (ITA)
1910   Octave Lapize (FRA)   Carlo Galetti (ITA)
1909   Francois Faber (LUX)   Luigi Ganna (ITA)
1908   Lucien Petit-Breton (FRA)
1907   Lucien Petit-Breton (FRA)
1906   Rene Pottier (FRA)
1905   Louis Trousselier (FRA)
1904   Henri Cornet (FRA)
1903   Maurice Garin (FRA)


Interested in the Olympic Games? Go to www.olympicgamesstats.com to get the Olympic Fever!